The League of Women Voters of El Paso


Directory of Elected Officials

Meetings & Events


Join Us!

Voter Information

County Elections Office


League of Women Voters - U.S.

League of Women Voters - TX


Previous BRAVO AWARD Recipients



The BRAVO AWARD is presented to individuals  who have shown exemplary dedication to the community by their work for the betterment of El Paso.

Thursday October 13, 2016

BRAVO Award  Luncheon



Richard A. Castro

Castro Enterprises, Inc

with the 2016 BRAVO Award for decades-long philanthropy that has enriched the lives and the future of so many young people through the provision of scholarships.



GuyRex Associates

Richard Guy and Rex Holt
with the 2016 Lifetime Achievement BRAVO Award for bringing El Paso over a decade of national attention, glamour, and beauty pageant winners who now have successful careers.



 Reception 11:00 a.m.              Lunch 11:30 a.m.


Wyndham El Paso Airport Hotel

2027 Airport Boulevard

El Paso, TX

$65.00 per person

$600.00 per table of 10

Please indicate if you are vegetarian


Reservations by check to


     10525 Texwood

     El Paso, TX 79925

Inquiries:  915-591-3562

     or         915-549-9230


RSVP by October 6, 2016


2016 BRAVO AWARD Recipient

Richard A Castro

Castro Enterprises, Inc

For decades-long philanthropy that has enriched the lives and the future of so many young people through the provision of scholarships.

Richard Castro’s first job as a college student was flipping burgers at Texas State University. Today Richard Castro owns 25 McDonald’s Restaurants, employs 1000 people and in 2014, Texas State University named their Undergraduate Admission Center after him; the Richard A. Castro Undergraduate Admission Center, to be exact. Castro is an accomplished businessman, a respected leader and an inspiration to many. Widely recognized for his business acumen and success, he is equally admired – indeed revered - for his unprecedented commitment to give back to the communities he serves. In 1985, partnering with McDonald’s, he initiated the creation of HACER, the largest college scholarship program in the country for Hispanic students. HACER has awarded more than $25 million in scholarships since it started. He was the founder and first Chairman of Community en Acciớn composed of successful Hispanic business professionals focused on education, culture and the arts and a founder and first chairman of CREED whose sole focus is on education, He’s on boards. He’s a director on the Board at WestStar Bank. He served on the El Paso Public Service Board 1992 – 2000 when the water Utility was negotiating with the farmers for additional water rights. Castro was one of the first to propose turning the abundant supply of brackish water that lies beneath El Paso into fresh water. And the world’s largest inland desalination plant opened in2007 on the east side of El Paso, Texas. His philosophy? “I derive great pleasure in the practice of my two most important hobbies; working and being of service to the community.”

2016 Lifetime Achievement BRAVO Award

GuyRex Associates

Richard Guy and Rex Holt

For bringing El Paso over a decade of national attention, glamour, and beauty pageant winners who now have successful careers.

In May of 1987 People Magazine began their story with the headline “The Crowning Touch of Richard Guy and Rex Holt Shapes Texas Teens into Lovelies Who Just Can’t Lose. “ On Feb. 29, 1988, the New York Times’ started their article with a headline that read “In Texas, Two Kings of the Beauty Queen Business” (re:GuyRex) and went on to write “The Miss USA Pageant to be broadcast nationwide from this city (El Paso) is a most unabashed example of this link between dimples and dollars.” Further down they went on to say ”The life-sized cut-outs of Laura Martinez-Herring, Christy Fichtner and Michelle Royer in the offices of GuyRex Associates are symbols of a dynasty. For each of the past three years, Miss Texas –a “Guyrex Girl” – has become Miss USA.” What the NY Times didn’t know was that in the upcoming next two years, two more “GuyRex Girls” would become Miss USA –adding up to five consecutive winners: Laura Martinez Herring in 1985, Christy Fichtner in 1986, Michelle Royer in 1987, Courtney Gibbs in1988 and Gretchen Polhemus in 1089. Those five girls became known as the “Texas Aces”. Over all, Rex Holt and Richard Guy orchestrated 29 Miss USA El Paso, contests, ran 16 Miss Texas contests and coached six women to the Miss USA crown –including the ‘Texas Aces’ five of them in a row. For over a decade, Richard Guy and Rex Holt made El Paso, Texas the capital of the beauty pageant industry. They brought lots of press and attention to this city, money, celebrity judges and popular musical groups. Looking back, GuyRex launched lifetime careers for dozens of talented young women. It was one of El Paso’s favorite and most fun eras. We’re pleased to honor GuyRex. We wish Rex Holt could have been here.

Previous BRAVO AWARD Recipients

Judge Sam Callan

Mayor Suzanne Azar

Representative Jack C. Vowell

Senator Peggy Rosson

Representative Nancy McDonald

David G. Marcus

Myrna J. Deckert

General Dennis D. Cavin

Adair & Dee Margo

Cecilia Ochoa Levine

Judy and J Kirk Robison

Colonel Heidi V. Brown

Sheriff Leo Samaniego

Judge Max Higgs

Mayor John Cook

Kathleen Staudt, PhD

Nancy Hanson

Rosemary Castillo

Zuill Bailey

Ann Crawford McClure

Joyce Wilson

Emily Loya


Previous Life Achievement BRAVO Award Recipients

Coach Don Haskins

Anita Blair  

Janice Woods Windle

Hon Eliot Shapleigh

Tanny Berg

Major General Dana J.H. Pittard

Robert L Bowling, III  

Rosa Guerrero


Last Updated 11/03/16

League of Women Voters of El Paso | | Back